Music & Lyrics; Jomar & Calvin Orosa

In 1992 I bought a professional keyboard, the Korg O1/W. Even today, it still has some great sounds on it, and a built in sequencer. When I first got the keyboard, I started spending hours sequencing music, whether it was covers or my own songs.

The arrangement for Next To Me was written in 1995, and I got excited with the phat keyboard sound mixed with an R&B groove. I remember spending a lot of time on the sequence and really enjoying laying the tracks down. However, when it came to writing the melody I hit a block. Originally the song was called Everytime, but I could never fill the right words into the melody and the melody was just lame.

Fast forward 12 years, I bring my guitar and keyboard to Sonic Elegance Studios. I load up the songs on the keyboard, and whilst running through “Old” sequences, I come across the Everytime song. (I have since written another song called Everytime, which every songwriter seems to do). I turn to Calvin, the 14 year old groove apprentice, get Viko to mic him up and ask Calvin to sing out the first tune and words that come to him.

Calvin lays the ground to a fresh hook and smooth melody. He comes up with the opening line, “Take me back to the days when we were young…”, and in that moment, the song’s theme was set.

(To be continued…)

